top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAngie Christine

Actor Gene Allen


When you all think of the movie House Party, there are a lot of things that will come to mind. The movie itself had a remarkable cast, and to this day, someone is sitting at home watching and doing the Kid & Play dance. Actor Gene Allen starred in this epic 1990 movie, and he was so gracious to sit with GrinderZZ 24/7 Magazine just to let everyone know some tidbits about him that we may not have known.   


"Well everybody calls me “GROOVE”, but my real name is Eugene Allen, friends call me

“Gene”…born and bred from New York & grew up with Hip Hop – graffiti; break dancing; rapping – This was my backdrop, my training ground when it came to my love for music, but more importantly HIP HOP music…I started rapping for fun at parties, and it just grew from there…I use to hang out with Afrika BamBaataa & the Mighty Zulu Nation at the “T” Connection in the Bronx with one of my best friends James Smith – Smitty D; older brother of PMD of EPMD…I found I had a knack to put words together and rock a party growing up and the rest is history, so to speak," said Allen.

183 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page