top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAngie Christine

An Interview With "The Jets"


Before I start this interview, I need to say a few words about this group. When I say, FAMILY STRONG, these loving, beautiful beings take the cake. I've adored this group ever since they first stepped out on the scene in the early 80's. This brother's and sister's group has been entertaining the world with so many top hits, that it's hard to choose a favorite. They've been my favorite 80's group, and to this day, they still hold a special place in my heart. Ladies and gentlemen, I introduce to you........ The Jets!

GrinderZZ: Good evening to you Moana and the gang! Welcome to the GrinderZZ studio. For those who are young, can you tell my fans a little about yourself and the group?

Moana: Aloha, my name is Moana and I am the youngest member in The Jets. I have been married going on 23 years and am blessed with 6 children.

These days I stay busy raising our kids and being a taxi (lol), supporting my kids sports events and home school a few of them, too. We still perform as The Jets and I have had the opportunity to produce other artists and co-write a lot of songs with my husband Junior.


GrinderZZ: At what age did you all started singing, and knew you wanted to be in the entertainment industry?

Moana: After our family decided to do music I was pretty much a part of the group since I was about 5 years old. I guess you could say, I was born into it in a sense. We became The Jets when I was 10. I have always enjoyed being with my family doing music it was the only thing I ever knew was entertaining.

GrinderZZ: I find you all fascinating. You're family are from the island of, Tonga. We're any of you guy's born over there?

Moana: Our parents immigrated to America in 1965 with our oldest brother Leroy who was only a few months old. The rest of us were born in America.

GrinderZZ: Growing up, what genre of music did you all listen to and who were you all’s music idols? Moana: The Jacksons and Earth, Wind and Fire were most definitely at the top of the list. Elvis Presley, The Osmond’s, The Commodores, Midnight Starr…


GrinderZZ: At what age were you all when you first signed your first record deal?

Moana: I was about 10 years old, Liz was 11, Kat was 13, Rudy was 14, Haini was 15, Gene was 16 and Eddie and Roy were 17.

GrinderZZ: Touring overseas I know is probably exciting. What's the weirdest or craziest thing a fan has done to get close to you guys?

Moana: We loved visiting other countries. It’s still shocking to me that they know our music and are familiar with our group. They were always so loving and respectful.


Our fans would give us the sweetest gifts. Photo albums, t-shirts and jewelry and keepsakes. We always tried our best to write them back and respond to them. There was a phone number at the end of our “Private Number” video. It was our office number and fans would call and when we were in the office we would randomly answer calls and fans would go nuts. We loved talking to them.

In fact, I became pen pals with 2 girls who were my age from Minnesota. We were all 12 years old. We ended up meeting up on different occasions and became real friends. We have remained friends for over 30 years. Many fans have become good friends of ours.


GrinderZZ: I was so excited to see you all at the, Love Affair concert in Vegas year's back, and also at a outside concert in California in 2019. After that, the world started shutting down with the covid issue's. How did the group cope with not performing anymore?

Moana: Like everyone else, it was difficult to lose work but so many of us flipped it and made that time off become real time out for family.

We took a lot of road trips, went camping, we grew a huge garden and had a awesome harvest. We went back to basics and loved the time out.


GrinderZZ: Now that everything started gradually opening back up in the world, do you guy's have any upcoming overseas concerts?

Moana: We are working on some shows in the Philippines, Guam and hopefully New Zealand and the South Pacific.


GrinderZZ: What advice can you give to someone that maybe looking to start a singing career?

Moana: That’s a tough one. Music is the passion that we all love but the “music business” can be brutal. It took its toll on our family and almost split our family up for good. Stay close to your family and your close friends. Don’t lose them. They are your anchor. They will keep you grounded. Enjoy the music but once it starts taking you to a dark place where you don’t feel right, take a time out and keep God at the center of your life. A lot of folks compromise their principles for fame and fortune and end up losing their souls in the process. It’s not worth it.


GrinderZZ: How can fans get in touch with the group?

Moana: We are about to launch our new website called jetsmusic.com with our concert schedule and an online store with music, booklets and t-shirts as well. Our focus this time is simply family first. There will be updated contact information but for now you can reach us at Jungle Entertainment LLC

Our manager is Junior Feinga

His email is: jrfeinga@gmail.com

801-427-1527

(Photo credit: Courtesy of Moana)

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page